Stainless Steel Allergy?

Discussion in 'Difficulties with wearing a device?' started by NikkiAnton, Jun 29, 2023.

1. NikkiAnton

NikkiAnton Active member

Redondo Beach CA
    Home Page:
    Local Time:
    3:14 AM
    I have been wearing a Mature Metal cage off and on for about 4 years now, and have gone as long as 3 months without removal. I recently locked up again after a couple months cage free. Within 3-4 days, by balls got very red and irritated, and the skin actually started drying up and flaking off.

I had heard that some people can't wear stainless steel cages because they are allergic to the nickel used in stainless steel.

Is it possible to develop an allergy over time, when there previously had not been any problems?

Is there any treatment for this type of allergy?

I'd hate have to go through getting a new custom cage, probably Titanium. From what I read, the resin cages are not good for long term wear, and need to be removed almost daily for cleaning to eliminate odors.

2. jemima

jemima maid for my Mistress

Maid
    Birmingham
    Local Time:
    11:14 AM
    ooh. i have not hear of somebody get that after it been ok for ages and ages but i hope that you get better and it stop happen.

3. subrick

subrick Junior Member

Engineering/Technical Education.
    USA, Western Massachusetts.
    Local Time:
    6:14 AM
    Yes, absolutely. Case in point, a neighbor who had eaten shellfish all her life and never had an issue, had some on a cruise when she was in her 60's and had a reaction that nearly killed her.

Is it possible that before you stored your cage you cleaned or treated it with some type of chemical which might have left a residue on the surface? Perhaps that caused an irritation after a few days.

Well, I hope you can figure it out soon.

Good Luck,

~subrick

4. Hey1234

Hey1234 Active member

Local Time: