D point in my life.

Discussion in 'Off topic discussions' started by salonslave, Dec 31, 2015.

1. salonslave

salonslave I play for a living and work for fun.

SW Louisiana, USA
    Local Time:
    1:23 AM
    I was working in the organic veggie garden yesterday after helping my buddy butcher 3 wild Louisiana hogs - the finest meat on the planet (for my family, any way)
    As I often do while working the soil, I began to think about all the people I have known who have died. I am 63 and there have been a lot. I began thinki g about the percentage of people I have know. Who have passed. I figure that right now half of the people I have ever known have passed on.
    I named this thee D Point. D for deceased or dead. I have heard of a erage life expectancy and many other terms, but never a designation based on the individual who has lost friends and acquaintences.
    Since this The Bar of people I identify with I thought I would mention my thoughts.
    Any other thoughts?
    My neighbor just gave me a 1975 Schwinn 5 speed Suburban that has only ever hung upside down in her brother's preserved room.
    Kinda cool. I just ordered tires and tubes.
    In 2016 I plan to bicycle again.
    Ss

Captured Pirate likes this.
  2. SubVerity

SubVerity Still the mansion's fairy godmother. ;)

London
    Local Time:
    8:23 AM
    At one point in my life it seemed as if half of everyone I knew was dead or dying. This was the late 80s and early 90s and was mostly due to HIV, and an excess of fun generally. At some point I remember feeling quite lonely and made a conscious decision to befriend more straight people. Fortunately retro-viral drugs work incredibly well these days so such choices are no longer necessary, but increasing age will start to tip the balance in your D point's favour at some point I guess.

I still do dangerous sports where there is the reality of death and have lost acquaintances as a result, but no close friends as yet. Fingers crossed!