Mature Metal Jailbird Review

Discussion in 'Mature Metal' started by bringback, Feb 28, 2011.

1. bringback

bringback Member

Local Time:
    11:03 AM
    Just thought I'd write-up a review here, since I've benefitted so much from the reviews of others.

I received my Jailbird about the middle of December, 2010, so I’ve been using it for about two months. The previous device that I had was just a simple leather device reinforced with metal rings, so it was certainly not secure nor intended for long-term use.

I was somewhat nervous about sizing, since I had no experience with devices like the CB series, which would help provide a reference point for the sizing of the Jailbird. So I just did the best that I could with a ruler and some rings I had around the house. I ordered the following specifications:

Model: Jailbird
    Ring style: oval
    Cage/ring gap: 3/8"
    Cage length: 3-1/4"
    Ring size: 2"
    Cage diameter: 1-3/8"

The result was a device that fits fine, but is just a little bigger than I would like for length, diameter, and base ring size. This doesn’t mean the device was built incorrectly, but rather that the actual fit using those measurements ended up being looser than originally anticipated. I have read from other customers that their measurements often end up being slightly bigger than the optimal sizing, and I know that Mature Metal has said on this forum something to the effect of “if in doubt, go a little smaller.” I echo this advice. I could send my device back for adjustments, but I live in Canada and the combination of adjustment costs, shipping charges, and duty taxes means it probably makes more sense for me to just order a new device.