Falling out, but ring fits?

Discussion in 'Difficulties with wearing a device?' started by Jenniferswallows, Aug 23, 2020.

1. Jenniferswallows

Local Time:
    8:47 AM
    Hello everyone. I'm very new to this sort of thing and have only ever taught 3 devices. I had measured my self and felt a little uneasy about buying something that costs 20 bucks at least, for something that might not fit. So I went down to a hardware store and found a large keyring that was basically 50MM for about 2 bucks. It worked!

It gave me enough confidence to buy what I was going to use as a kind of test for this sort of thing. But it was so disappointing it's almost not worth the mention. It was a silicone set that allowed the rings to slip under and I would put 2 pins into the cage to help hold me tight. It. Took. Me. Forever! to get into that thing and even then, it fell off as soon as I stood up. The material it was made out of just did not hold itself together or offer any kind of security. I'll share what it was, if for no other reason then to fill you all in on my situation.

61KpFeNKvgL._AC_SL1000_.jpg

For my next cage, still feeling confident that the size ring I needed was 50 mm, I ordered a cheap steel Terrence off of Amazon. It worked wonders! I was able to stay in the cage, once I got used to it pretty well, for 3 days. I would take it off at night because I wasn't sure if I could sleep with it just yet, but I eventually worked my way up to sleeping overnight with it. This is where I first had a problem with this cage. I'll provide another picture of this cage, so you know which one I mean.

51PSXXhcArL._AC_SL1200_.jpg

I woke up the next morning and the cage had fallen off! I'm not exactly in a private household, so this freaked me out to no end! I know that if the ring isn't the right size you can fall out of it, but I actually have two theories as to why this happened.